Glossy – MoLeNET

Blog of the Glossy MoLeNET Project

The Festival of the Apple (podcasting event)

Feb 13th 2008

It is great to find myself involved in this exciting project and a superb opportunity to be able to join in a training and awareness day straight off.

Me? Well I’ve been teaching in FE for 12 years and currently teach/support/facilitate/irritate everything from wonderfully disruptive 14 year olds to marvellously cynical Senior Managers. I also work as part of the Quality (yes I know) Team with a focus on HE. When I have a few moments free I am Life Tutor to three groups of Hairdressers, its a tough life, not.

The main thing for me was the focus on the learning opportunities for students but somebody has to make it all happen. I am technically useless in reality and have a fairly agricultural und utiltarian approach to ‘kit’. Don’t get me wrong, I like new, pretty, shiny things but its what they can do not what thay are that does it for me. After yesterday its Apple all the way for me, easy, intuitive to use, clear and well supported – and it looks nice! (Did I mention how shallow I am?)

 I first came to mobile learning in 1989 when working as National Sales Manager for Max Factor. We used a systen called ROES (remote order entry system) and it had a tiny facility to add notes. It was perfect and so effective for bite sized training  and motivational stuff. (Does that make me a pioneer? Did I mention I am very vain?) I’ve had a go at most initiatives and my own teaching support site (http://ciderose.mysite.freeserve.com if you are interested) has ticked along since 2002 ish and has been used to host mostly web links and mini-blogs, before there was such a thing. Why? mostly to keep my students going and make my life easier. (Did I mention I am very lazy?)

Yesterday was great, from the enthusiasm and support of the speakers and facilitators through to the hands on and one-to-one very patient support. Even a pat dog for the technically stressed was provided – what attention to detail!

Give it a few days and I’ll get working with my students and I’ll post how things go.

Be lucky

 Alan

February 18, 2008 - Posted by | talk

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

