Glossy – MoLeNET

Blog of the Glossy MoLeNET Project

Not quite PC

Feb. 18thThought I’d better start getting to grips with the Apple software and used our wonderfully equipped Apple Suite to have a fumble. OK it didn’t go that well as it took me about 10 minutes to find the ON button, cunningly (or is that asthetically?) hidden on the back of the screen, once I got going I didn’t break it, as far as I can tell, and it didn’t catch fire – normally a good sign. Enough for day one.I have read through various postings and looked at budget proposals for hardware so I thought I ought to audit and cost my own resources… Ancient HP laptop, check (worthless but a good doorstop and I can cook a Sunday lunch while it logs on) HP PDA, check (ebay £30 quid). Samsung D900, check (ebay £20 quid), SD card reader, 1gb card for phone, 2gb card for PDA, check (12 quid the lot). Hmm looks a bit meagre but it will do the job for now. It does all talk to each other so that’s good enough for me.Number one in an occasional series:

Molenet as she is spoke:

Having now met an eeePc, which nobody seems to know how to pronounce (without impersonating a bat) I would like to confirm RSS is pronounced are-ess-ess there is a second ess, worth a mention.

Just for James

I believe that interpretations of economic theory can be explained through the medium of dance using a Nintendo Wii.

February 19, 2008 Posted by | talk | Comments Off on Not quite PC